Fitness solutions for your school

Overview

Youth development is a major priority for all of us. As you no doubt know, physical activity is associated with a host of elements that promote student well-being. We offer equipment adapted to your students.

As mentioned, physical activity is associated with a host of elements that promote student well-being such as physical fitness, healthy living, cognitive skills and academic success, physical health, psychological well-being and mental health as well as social skills

It is well established that staying physically fit all of one’s life is a consequence of the positive exercise experiences one has had during childhood and adolescence. This is where your role comes in.

We have the solution to work together on the physical development of your students. Our equipment, designed for jumping, climbing, pushing and pulling, not only develop all of these different fundamental motor skills, they also provide a fun space to promote muscle strength, which is best developed between the ages of 13 and 15.

TREKFIT for the physical development of your students

TREKFIT equipment lines

Ideal for the schoolyard, select the equipment line that most reaches your students.

Have questions about TREKFIT in your school ?

Contact us

Users

We now know that in Canada, only 35% of school-aged children are active enough to meet the 60-minute moderate-to-sustained physical activity recommendations per day.

However, the practice of physical activity is associated with a multitude of elements that promote the well-being of students. Let's learn a little more about physical activity among young people.

Physical activity among young people

Details

It is well established that staying physically fit all of one’s life is a consequence of the positive exercise experiences one has had during childhood and adolescence.

Physical literacy is directly developed from the particular group of activities a child has practiced. Unfortunately, lacking this crucial know-how will lead many children to abandon sports and physical activities for passive hobbies instead.

Physical literacy comes from developing motor skills such as running, jumping, throwing, catching, swimming, skating, climbing and pushing. These skills serve as building blocks for all future sports. Accordingly, they can develop four qualities.

1. Flexibility

2. Cardiovascular endurance

3. Speed

4. Muscle strength

There is a specific window of opportunity for each new skill a child learns that we call “the sensitive phases of development”. This is the optimal timeframe in which a child can attain skills that will let them reach their full potential later on. Think of it as storing up a skill for future development, depending on the sport they’ll practice.

All children, therefore, must have a good command of basic motor and sports skills for a population to be healthy and active.

Here is a table showing the estimated ages for optimal development.

As the graph demonstrates, most of the elements of physical literacy develop very early, often before the age of 13.

Trekfit’s training circuits and urban obstacles, designed for jumping, climbing, pushing and pulling, not only develop all of these different fundamental motor skills, they also provide a fun space to promote muscle strength, which is best developed between the ages of 13 and 15.

Teenagers who don’t want to go to a gym to work out can get the same results by using Trekfit’s circuits. Moreover, the information panels are clear and include options for varying intensity. Teenagers will be able to challenge each other and since they are using their own body weight, the risk of injury is practically nil.

Photo gallery

"Installing TREKFIT structures on our sites has allowed us to offer our various sports clubs a new high-quality platform that promotes physical conditioning among young people. Furthermore, the equipment is available to the community at night and on weekends. This arrangement is highly appreciated by everyone."

Management -Externat Sacré-Cœur de Rosemère

More

Have questions about TREKFIT in your school ?

Contact us

OUR VISION FOR SCHOOLYARDS

Schools are the heart of our young people's lives. Since TREKFIT’s earliest inception we’ve aspired to be an instrument of positive social change in the health and wellbeing of our youth.

We believe that by offering them a compelling space to gather and develop their social and physical skills, the foundations for the development of a long-term active life are being set. As that’s the best way to support their development, the obvious next step was imagining the ideal schoolyard to help them do just that.

During our reflections, we referred to the Lab-École and the publication “Thinking the School of Tomorrow” (Penser l’école de demain), which acted as a resource and helped support our ideas. As their findings are directly related to our observations, we’re happy to share some of their conclusions.

See Lab-école's website

Here are our thoughts on the development of the ideal schoolyard:

A collaboration and meeting space.

Details

In Quebec, there’s been an effort underway to demonstrate the schoolyard’s true value on the success and health outcomes of young people. In fact, it is the ideal place for everyone to get together and move at the same time, while having fun and recharging their batteries outside.

Considering that it is the first place a child sets foot upon arriving at school in the morning and where his first impression of the day is made, considering that the child spends an average of 20% of his day at school and that he finds himself there at least 720 times in a school year - needless to say, it’s a space of particular importance to him.

The outdoor space that borders the school has several functions: it is a living environment for young people, a meeting place, a work environment for the school team and a community space. For students, this is an important socialization area where they learn to communicate and share. The schoolyard is also a crucial place for young people to develop their motor and cognitive skills. Play is allowed and encouraged, and creativity is promoted in a number of ways. In terms of community, a yard used to its fullest potential becomes a space that promotes meeting, sharing, discovering and transmitting the values of living together.

Since the schoolyard must be open to its community, it’s essential to imagine it as being as inclusive as possible so that everyone, young and old, can socialize, relax and have fun.

A public space that serves the community must have equipment that can be used by all citizens, whatever their age and physique. It should have equipment that not only enriches the environment in which they live, but that can be used by anyone, without risk of injury and at various intensity levels.

Source : Le Lab-École, Penser l’école de demain, 2019

An area for developing physical abilities while having fun!

Details

The schoolyard is an integrative place that contributes to the development of healthy lifestyle habits and consolidates aspects of the overall development of the child. If the latter can take risks safely and meet challenges at his level, he can thrive and develop his sense of competence, a feeling that will invariably affect his educational success.

It is also here that the child can develop the motor skills that will allow him to get the most out of his regular physical activity that in turn contributes to the development of healthy lifestyle habits.

That is why it is essential to spend time and energy designing a living space that will allow a child to evolve and develop in a healthy and safe environment, year-round.

We now know that a child’s feeling of personal competence strongly contributes to the quality of their experiences. This is why the early development of a variety of motor skills is a crucial factor for adopting and retaining a physically active lifestyle in adulthood. (Government of Quebec, 2017, page 25; quote in Le Lab-École, Thinking the school of tomorrow (Penser l’école de demain), 2019, p. 89).

As well, we notice that young people are often at a loss for what to do when they’ve outgrown the playground. Traditional fitness doesn’t interest younger teens. They prefer activities that involve play and challenge rather than a traditional workout. Equipment like Climbing Walls, Bamboo Jungles and Crossing of Giants are attractive to this group and provide a great way for them to stay active. Inspired by trends like American Ninja Warrior, they can compete against one another in a dynamic, entertaining way. And all the while, they’re developing the fundamental motor skills such as speed, muscle strength and cardiovascular endurance (see illustration below) that correspond to the to the sensitive phases of development for their age group. This will allow them to reach their potential in any sport later on. Then, as they get closer to 16, they may start being more interested in calisthenics or strength training.

Moreover, studies have shown that people who work out in groups are more likely to stick with it. Equipment allowing multiple users on the same piece at the same time is therefore essential. By combining effective group training with playful and fun equipment, we help young people develop their skills and interests for a more active life.

Recognizing the importance of physical activity among youth, we partnered with the Grand Défi Pierre Lavoie. In 2019 we rallied our suppliers, employees and friends to the important cause of the health of our young people by participating in the 1000 km event.

To learn more about this organization: legdpl.com

Source : Le Lab-École, Penser l’école de demain, 2019

The importance of outdoor activities.

Details

Not only has the relationship between young people and nature deteriorated greatly, so too has the time devoted to free play. However, the social demand for outdoor activities is continually evolving. Similarly, 84% of youth report that, given the opportunity, they would like to do more outdoor activities.

Research has demonstrated the many benefits of outdoor physical activity, most notably in stress reduction, reduced symptoms of depression, help with concentration, decreased symptoms associated with Parkinson's disease, attention deficit with or without hyperactivity. Outdoor physical activity also promotes social interaction, contributes to motor development, prevents the development of myopia, promotes sleep and improves the functioning of the immune system. In fact, according to ‘’Your Brain on Nature: The Science of Nature's Influence on Your Health, Happiness and Vitality’’, the benefits associated with physical activity are doubled when combined with nature. Similarly, interaction with the natural environment presents numerous potential benefits: the improvement of self-confidence, social skills, communication, motivation, concentration, fine and gross motor skills, the development of environmental knowledge and more time spent with family in a natural setting are just few.

Source : Le Lab-École, Penser l’école de demain, 2019

The schoolyard according to TREKFIT includes:

  • Fitness circuits used for group classes and physical education classes.
  • Obstacles that blend in with nature (Bamboo Jungle, Crossing of Giants, Climbing Wall, Cargo Net) to enable the development of basic physical skills and free play in groups.
  • Meeting / leisure areas.
  • A bike path nearby allowing active transportation for students.
  • Fields dedicated to conventional team sports.
  • Park for children that’s open to the community.
  • The integration of a variety of natural spaces (seasonal, covered, varied soils, reliefs etc.)

Have questions about TREKFIT in your school ?

Contact us

Vue d’ensemble

Le développement des jeunes est au coeur de vos et nos priorités. Comme vous n’êtes pas sans savoir, la pratique d’activités physiques est associée à une multitude d’éléments favorisant le mieux-être des élèves. Nous vous proposons les équipements adaptés à vos jeunes.

Comme mentionné, la pratique d’activités physiques favorise la condition physique, les habitudes de vie saines, les habiletés cognitives et la réussite scolaire, la santé physique, le bien-être psychologique et la santé mentale ainsi que les compétences sociales des jeunes.

Il est bien connu que pour faire de l’activité physique toute la vie on doit éprouver de la confiance en situation d’activité physique; et cette confiance, à l’âge adulte, est issue la plupart du temps des expériences favorables acquises durant l'enfance et l’adolescence. C’est là que votre rôle entre en jeu.

Nous avons la solution afin de travailler ensemble au développement physique de vos jeunes. Nos équipements, avec leurs éléments de sauts, de grimpe, de pousser et tirer travaillent différentes habiletés motrices fondamentales et sont aussi un formidable espace ludique pour développer la dernière des composantes; la force musculaire, qui s'étend de 13 ans à 18 ans.

TREKFIT pour le développement physique des jeunes

Les équipements TREKFIT

Parfait pour la cour d’école, sélectionnez la gamme d’équipements qui rejoint le plus vos jeunes.

Vous avez des questions concernant TREKFIT à votre école ?

Contactez-nous

Clientèle

Nous savons maintenant qu'au Canada, seulement 35 % des élèves d’âge scolaire sont suffisamment actifs.

Les recommandations minimales sont de 60 minutes d’activité physique d’intensité modérée à soutenue par jour pour les jeunes.


Pourtant, la pratique d’activités physiques est associée à une multitude d’éléments favorisant le mieux-être des élèves. Apprenons en un peu plus sur l’activité physique chez les jeunes.

L'activité physique chez les jeunes

Détails

Au Canada, seulement 35 % des élèves d’âge scolaire sont suffisamment actifs pour atteindre les recommandations de 60 minutes d’activité physique d’intensité modérée à soutenue par jour (ParticipACTION, 2018). Pourtant, la pratique d’activités physiques est associée à une multitude d’éléments favorisant le mieux-être des élèves tels que la condition physique, les habitudes de vie saines, les habiletés cognitives et la réussite scolaire, la santé physique, le bien-être psychologique et la santé mentale ainsi que les compétences sociales (Kino-Québec, 2011).

Il est bien connu que pour faire de l’activité physique toute la vie on doit éprouver de la confiance en situation d’activité physique; et cette confiance, à l’âge adulte, est issue la plupart du temps des expériences favorables acquises durant l'enfance et l'adolescence.

C'est l'ensemble des activités pratiquées chez les jeunes qui serviront à développer ce qui est commun d'appeler le savoir-faire physique. S'il est absent, plusieurs jeunes abandonneront l’activité physique et le sport au profit de passe-temps inactifs.

Le savoir-faire physique est constitué d'habiletés motrices tel que: courir, sauter, lancer, attraper, nager, patiner, grimper, pousser. Ces habiletés servent de «pierre angulaire» à tous les sports. Selon la manière dont on les organisera, elles pourront développer 4 qualités:

1 Flexibilité

2 Endurance cardiovasculaire

3 Vitesse

4 Force musculaire

Pour chaque nouvelle habileté que doit acquérir un jeune, il y a un moment qui est « le plus propice ». On nomme ces moments "les phases sensibles du développement". C'est le moment où le jeune risque le plus d'améliorer une qualité pour plus tard. C'est un peu comme s'il "emmagasinait" ces qualités physiques et sera prêt à les faire croitre, dans un futur proche, selon le sport qu'il pratiquera.

Donc, pour obtenir une population active et en bonne santé, tous les jeunes doivent posséder une bonne maîtrise des habiletés motrices et sportives de base.

Voici un tableau résumé des âges estimés pour le développement optimal.


Au regard de ce graphique, on remarque que la plupart des éléments du savoir-faire physique se développent très tôt, souvent avant l'âge de 13 ans.

Les circuits d'entrainement TREKFIT, avec leurs éléments de sauts, de grimpage, de pousser et tirer travaillent différentes habiletés motrices fondamentales et sont aussi un formidable espace ludique pour développer la dernière des composantes; la force musculaire, qui s'étend de 13 ans à 18 ans.

Les adolescents qui ne souhaitent pas faire de la musculation traditionnelle en salle peuvent obtenir les mêmes résultats musculaires en utilisant les circuits TREKFIT. Les consignes d'utilisation sur les panneaux d'affichage sont claires et comportent toujours des options de variation d'intensité. Les adolescents pourront se donner des défis pour se mesurer entre eux et puisqu'il s'agit toujours de mouvements avec le poids du corps et non d'une charge à lever, les risques de blessures sont quasi inexistants.

Réalisations

«L’installation sur nos terrains des structures TREKFIT a permis d’offrir, à nos différents clubs sportifs, un nouveau plateau de grande qualité favorisant le conditionnement physique de nos jeunes. De plus, les équipements sont mis à la disposition de la communauté le soir et la fin de semaine. Cet aménagement extérieur est fort apprécié de tous.»

Direction - Externat Sacré-Cœur de Rosemère

Plus

Vous avez des questions concernant TREKFIT à votre école ?

Contactez-nous

La cour d'école selon Trekfit

Les écoles sont le coeur de la vie de nos jeunes. Chez TREKFIT, nous aspirons depuis nos tout débuts, à devenir un instrument de changement social positif quant à la santé et au bien-être des jeunes.

Nous croyons que c’est en leur offrant un lieu de vie rassembleur, leur permettant de développer leurs aptitudes sociales et physiques, mettant les bases pour le développement d’une vie active à long terme que nous pouvons les soutenir dans leur développement. Nous avons donc imaginé la cour d’école idéale pour les aider en ce sens.

En cour de réflexion, nous nous sommes naturellement dirigé vers le Lab-école et le mémoire Penser l’école de demain, nous aidant ainsi à appuyer nos idées. Les constats du Lab-école étant directement liés à nos observations, nous n’hésitons pas à partager certaines de leurs conclusions.

Voir site web Lab-école

Nos pistes de réflexion sur le développement de la cour d’école idéale :

Lieu de collaboration, de rassemblement.

Détails

Au Québec, des efforts sont déployés afin de démontrer la juste valeur de la cour d’école sur la réussite et la santé des jeunes. En effet, elle constitue le lieu de rassemblement idéal pour que tous, en même temps et dans un même lieu, bougent, s’amusent et fassent le plein d’énergie à l’extérieur.

Considérant qu’elle est le premier endroit où l’enfant met les pieds à son arrivée à l’école le matin et qu’il y façonne sa première impression de la journée, considérant que l’enfant y passe en moyenne 20 % de sa présence quotidienne à l’école et qu’il s’y retrouve au moins 720 fois dans une année scolaire, inutile de préciser que celle-ci revêt pour lui une importance particulière.

L’espace extérieur qui borde l’école rassemble plusieurs fonctions : c’est un milieu de vie pour les jeunes, un lieu de rassemblement, un environnement de travail pour l’équipe - école ainsi qu’un noyau à vocation communautaire. Pour les élèves, il s’agit d’un lieu important de socialisation, où ils apprennent à communiquer et à partager. La cour d’école représente également un lieu déterminant pour le développement des jeunes du point de vue moteur et cognitif. Le jeu y est permis et encouragé, et la créativité des élèves est mise de l’avant de plusieurs façons. À l’échelle de la communauté, une cour utilisée à son plein potentiel devient un espace propice au rassemblement, au partage, à la découverte et à la transmission de valeurs de vivre-ensemble.


Puisque la cour d’école doit s’ouvrir à sa communauté, il serait essentiel de la réfléchir de façon à ce qu’elle soit la plus inclusive possible pour permettre à tous, jeunes et adultes, de socialiser, de s’y ressourcer et de s’y amuser.

Un espace public au service de la communauté doit disposer d’un mobilier pouvant être utilisé par tous les citoyens, quel que soit leur âge et leur forme physique. Non seulement des équipements qui enrichissent l’environnement dans lequel ils sont implantés, mais qui peuvent aussi être utilisés par quiconque, et ce, sans risque de blessure et à des niveaux d’intensité variés.

Source : Le Lab-École, Penser l’école de demain, 2019

Développer les aptitudes physiques des jeunes, tout en s'amusant !

Détails

La cour d’école est un lieu intégrateur qui contribue au développement de saines habitudes de vie et qui consolide les aspects du développement global de l’enfant. Si ce dernier peut y prendre des risques en toute sécurité et relever des défis à sa mesure, il pourra dès lors s’épanouir et développer son sentiment de compétence, sentiment qui aura invariablement une incidence sur sa réussite éducative.

C’est également dans ce lieu que l’enfant peut développer ses habiletés motrices lui permettant ainsi d’optimiser sa pratique régulière d’activités physiques et de contribuer au développement de saines habitudes de vie. C’est pourquoi il paraît essentiel de consentir temps et énergie pour aménager un espace de vie qui lui permettra d’évoluer et de se développer dans un milieu sain et sécuritaire, et ce, en toutes saisons.

Nous savons maintenant que le sentiment d’efficacité personnelle contribue fortement à la qualité des expériences. Voilà pourquoi le développement précoce d’une variété d’habiletés motrices est un vecteur crucial pour l’adoption d’un mode de vie physiquement actif et son maintien à l’âge adulte.

Ainsi, nous remarquons que les jeunes sont souvent en manque d’idées d’activités une fois passé l’âge des terrains de jeux. Pour les jeunes adolescents, l’entrainement traditionnel ne suscite pas encore d’intérêt. Ils veulent faire des activités qui impliquent davantage le jeu et le défi plutôt qu’un entrainement traditionnel. Les équipements tels que le Mur d’Escalade, la Jungle de Bambous, la Travers de géants sont attrayants pour ce groupe et présentent une excellente façon pour eux de demeurer actifs. Inspirés par les tendances telles que les parcours de style American Ninja Warrior, ils peuvent compétitionner les uns contre les autres, de façon dynamique et amusante. Et pendant ce temps, ils développent des habiletés motrices fondamentales comme la vitesse d’exécution, la force musculaire et l’endurance cardiovasculaire, correspondant, tel qu’illustré ci-dessous, aux phases sensibles de développement propres à leur groupe d’âge. Cela leur permettra plus tard d’atteindre leur plein potentiel dans la pratique de tous les sports. Et puis, vers l’âge de 16 ans, ils commenceront peut-être à s’intéresser davantage à la callisthénie ou à la musculation.

De plus, les études ont démontré que les individus qui s’entrainent en groupe sont plus susceptibles de persévérer. Les équipements permettant la présence simultanée de plusieurs utilisateurs sur la même pièce deviennent essentiels. Joignant des entrainements efficaces, en groupe, sur des équipements ludiques et amusants, nous aidons les jeunes à développer leurs aptitudes et intérêts pour une vie plus active.

Reconnaissant l’importance de l’activité physique chez les jeunes, nous nous sommes associés au Grand Défi Pierre Lavoie. Participant à l’épreuve du 1000 km 2019, nous avons rallié nos fournisseurs, employés et amis à cette importante cause qu’est la santé de nos jeunes.

Pour en savoir plus sur cette organisation : legdpl.com

Source : Le Lab-École, Penser l’école de demain, 2019

L’importance de la pratique d’activités en plein air.

Détails

Le lien qu’entretiennent les jeunes avec la nature s’est dégradé grandement de même que le temps consacré au jeu libre. Cependant, une demande sociale pour les activités en plein air est en constante évolution. Un sondage mené au Québec auprès des jeunes révèle que 90 % d’entre eux aiment être en nature « parce que cela leur fait du bien ». De même, 84 % des jeunes mentionnent que si l’occasion leur était donnée, ils souhaiteraient faire plus d’activités en plein air et en nature.

Les recherches démontrent de nombreux bénéfices de la pratique d’activités physiques de plein air, notamment en ce qui concerne la réduction du stress, la diminution des symptômes de la dépression, l’aide à la concentration, la diminution des symptômes associés au trouble du déficit de l’attention avec ou sans hyperactivité. L’activité physique en plein air favorise aussi les interactions sociales, contribue au développement moteur, prévient le développement de la myopie, facilite le sommeil et améliore le fonctionnement du système immunitaire. D’ailleurs, selon l’ouvrage Your Brain on Nature : The Science of Nature’s Influence on your Health, Happiness and Vitality, les avantages associés à l’activité physique doublent lorsque la pratique de celle-ci entre en contact avec la nature. Dans le même ordre d’idées, les bénéfices potentiels observés relativement à la nature sont nombreux : l’amélioration de la confiance en soi, des compétences sociales, de la communication, de la motivation, de la concentration, de la motricité fine et globale, le développement des connaissances qui touchent à l’environnement et l’augmentation de la fréquence des visites dans un milieu naturel en famille, en sont quelques-uns.

Source : Le Lab-École, Penser l’école de demain, 2019

La cour d’école selon TREKFIT inclut :

  • Circuits d’entrainement particulièrement utilisés pour cours de groupe et cours d’education physique.

  • Obstacles se fondant avec la nature (Jungle de bambous, Traverse de géants, mur d’escalade etc.) afin de permettre le développement des habiletés physiques de base et le jeux libre en groupe.

  • Espaces de rassemblement / détente.
  • Piste cyclable à proximité permettant le transport actif pour les jeunes.
  • Terrains dédiés au sports d’équipes conventionnels.
  • Parc pour enfants ouvert à la communauté.
  • L’intégration d’une variété d’espaces naturels (saisonniers, couverts, sols variés, reliefs etc.)

Vous avez des questions concernant TREKFIT à votre école ?

Contactez-nous